The National Steering Committee

Our program operates under the guidance of an independently chaired National Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee provides guidance and support on all aspects of our program’s delivery to ensure that we have the best chance of achieving our objectives.

The Steering Committee is led by an independent chair and includes expert representatives from state, territory and federal governments.

View the Terms of Reference (PDF, 313KB).

Steering committee members


Position or area

Dr John Robertson

Independent Acting Chair

Bertie Hennecke

Australian Government

Rachel Chay


Scott Charlton

New South Wales

Nigel Ainsworth


Claire Morton

Northern Territory

Rae Burrows (Marcelle O’Brien to attend meetings)


John van Schagen

Western Australia

Megan Wyllie

Australian Capital Territory

Nathan Rhodes

South Australia

Mike Richards

External Financial Consultant

Important committee documents

Did you know we've already eradicated multiple fire ant incursions in Australia?